A Step in a New Direction

I have been making and canning jams and jellies, pickles, and other items for a  few years now. I have been generous with my products and the happy recipients always tell me I should sell them. Well this year, my fair state of California passed a new law that makes selling some of my handiwork possible.

I speak, of course, of Assembly bill AB 1616 which became effective January 1, 2013. Basically, the bill allows you to use your home kitchen to prepare some food items for sale to the local public. They call this kind of business a Cottage Food Operation, (“Oh, a cottage! How charming. A little cottage is always very snug.”)When I found out about this I was certainly excited and began to research the possibilities now opened up to me.

The first thing I looked at was the approved foods list.  I wanted to know if the things I wanted to make were approved. Yes! Jams, jellies and fruit butters were on the list. I was surprised and somewhat inspired by the different items on the list. But, I’ll start small and add to the product lineup in the future.

Peach-Jalapeno Jelly and Spiced Peaches

Peach-Jalapeno Jelly and Spiced Peaches

My research into Cottage Food Operations and starting a small business (and blogging) continues. I have a product and a name and I’m moving forward.

This entry was posted in Home Based Business, Jams, Jellies, and Fruit Butters, Local Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

